Recent Issues

  • Constipation


  • Chinese Materia Medica(1)
  • Terminology

About the site

>> full story

  • Purpose
  • Disclaimer
  • Background
  • Herbal Medicine
  • The Theory of Chinese Medicine
  • Profile
  • Reference Literature
  • Contact Us

Chinese Materia Medica(2)

1. Herbs for Relieving Exterior Syndromes (Pungent and Warm)

1) ephedra

2) cinnamon twig

3) schizonepeta

4) ledebouriella root

5) perilla leaf

6) fresh ginger

7) notopterygium root

8) dahurian angelica root

9) chinese lovage root

10) spring onion

11) magnolia flower

2. Herbs for Relieving Exterior Syndromes (Pungent and Cool)

(to be continued)


The theory of chinese medicine (tcm)




The Concept of Organs in TCM

Through the experiences from autopsy, clinical observation and medical study, TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) divided the organs of the human body into following three groups.


Major Five Visceras : the Heart, the Lung, the Spleen, the Liver, the Kidney


Minor Six bowels : the Stomach, the Small Intestine, the Large Intestine, the Gallbladder, the Urinary Bladder, the Triple Burner


Extraordinary Curious Organs : the Brain, the Medulla, the Bones, the Uterus, the Blood Vessels


Here, our focus will be on the major five organs, and other organs will be explained later.



The Five Control Systems

It is very important to point out that there is a big difference between TCM and modern medicine in terms of the concept or interpretation of the organs.

TCM divided the system which controls the homeostasis of the human body into "five" under the influence of the five elements theory ( wood, fire, earth etc ), and called them after the name of the organs such as the liver, the heart, the spleen etc. This gives rise to confusion because TCM has included the function of the immune system, the endocrine system and even the nervous system ( i.e.mind ) , in that of five organs, which would be one of the causes that TCM is often referred to as "non scientific medicine" or "superstitious medicine". On our web site, we intend to call them "the five control systems" in order to avoid the confusion. The name of every system is as follows:


The Heart and Emotional System (HES) <--------- The Heart

The Lung and Immune Systen (LIS) <--------------- The Lung

The Digestive and Absorptive System (DAS) <--- The Spleen

The Liver and Emotional System (LES) <--------- The Liver

The Kidney and Hormonal System (KHS) <--------- The Kidney